Two seniors in the class of 2021 earned the Posse scholarship, a four year full-tuition scholarship. Seniors Ishmael Cabading and Helena Ikenberry earned the Posse scholarship to Bucknell University and University of Wisconsin-Madison respectively. Ishmael plays on the school’s basketball and track squads and is part of the conflict resolution program. Helena is a member of the Capitol Rowing Club and earned the “Spirit of Growth” Award in the 2019 DC Summer Youth Employment Program. She also has participated in the Honors Choir. They join a longstanding crew of Washington Latin students who have earned this selective scholarship.  In 2012 our first graduating class saw Fariss Nabih earn the scholarship to Bucknell University, and Anaka Osborne earn the scholarship to Pepperdine University. In 2013 Desmond Miller earned the scholarship to Lafayette College, and in 2015 – Olivia Boyd won it to  Lafayette College and Maddie Galvez to Bucknell University. The following year Conor Moore won for Bucknell University. In 2017 Serena Jones won to Bucknell University, and Alex Hagan, University to the University of Wisconsin-Madison. In 2018 Isaiah Smith won the scholarship to the University of Rochester, and in 2019 Nathan Cobbs, won for University of Rochester, and DJ Okuleye won for the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The scholarship is offered for 63 colleges and universities and is for students in Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, D.C., Houston, LA, Miami, New Orleans, New York, and San Francisco, as well as veterans nationwide. Each city selects 10 to 11 students to win the scholarship, creating a “posse” or cohort of students to attend the schools together. You can find more information at